Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Rodaan Al Galidi and Jonathan Reeder at the Jaipur Literature Festival

February 27 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm UTC+5.5

Rodaan Al Galidi and Jonathan Reeder (Two Blankets, Three Sheets) in conversation with Neeta Gupta at the Jaipur Literature Festival

27th February, 5 pm Indian Standard Time (12:30 pm Amsterdam, 11:30 am London, 6:30 am New York)

Two Blankets, Three Sheets is Rodaan Al Galidi’s autobiographical account of spending nine years as an asylum resident in the Netherlands. He tells of how he reached Amsterdam Airport in 1998, flushed away his documentary links with Iraq, and hoped to build a new life as an honorable refugee. What he encountered instead was a brutal institutionalisation and minimal facilities that he shared with 500 others while waiting for the precious documents of acceptance by the host country. Bizarre though the situation was, Al Galidi managed to find dark humour in the excessive scrutiny of his case. The author is accompanied by Jonathan Reeder, translator of Two Blankets, Three Sheets from Dutch to English. Reeder enjoys a dual career in translation and music. His translation of Rivers by Martin Michael Driessen won the 2016 ECI Literature Prize. In conversation with Rodaan Al Galidi and Jonathan Reeder is Neeta Gupta, the publisher of Yatra Books who has been working with translation as a bridge between cultures.

Please also do refer to the Jaipur Literature Festival website for updates.

Details

Date:
February 27
Time:
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm UTC+5.5
Website:
https://jaipurliteraturefestival.org

Organizer

Jaipur Literature Festival
Website:
https://jaipurliteraturefestival.org