Publisher Judith Uyterlinde to Participate in Translation Panel

World Editions publisher Judith Uyterlinde will join Andrea Pasion-Flores (Milflores Publishing), Anna Soler-Pont (Pontas Literary and Film Agency), Jérôme Bouchaud (Astier-Pécher Literary and Film Agency), and John McGlynn (The Lontar Foundation) for a panel discussion on the risks and rewards of publishing literature in translation.

The event will be streamed on Thursday, 25 February 2021 at 4 pm in Jakarta/10 am Amsterdam/9 am London/4 am New York time.

To register for this free webinar, please visit bit.ly/fortranslations

Generally speaking, the financial risk of producing a translated book is much higher than that of a non-translated text but changes in print technology and marketing systems have reduced financial risks, thereby opening up more opportunities for more literary translations from lesser diffused languages. Translation funding programs and translation prizes have also sweetened the scent of translated work. This is now the time for literary translations! In this session, experts in the field speak of literary and market trends while translators remark on the kind of content their source language has to offer.

This webinar is open to all interested parties but will focus primarily on issues affecting literary translators who translate from and into lesser-diffused languages of East and Southeast Asia.